Read summarized version with:
ChatGPT
Gemini
Claude
Grok
Add as preferred on Google
Pricing last verified: October 2026
Landlord Studio is the best rental property management software for landlords who want rent collection and tax-ready books in one app. It's free for your first 3 units, and PRO adds bank feeds and a Schedule E report (the IRS form for rental income and expenses) from $12 a month.
Start free on GO, with no credit card needed.
Best rental property management software at a glance
Landlord Studio is our overall pick. See how it stacks up against the most-compared tools below. If you only need free listings and screening, look at TurboTenant; DoorLoop suits portfolios of about 80 or more units. For accounting depth, see our property management accounting software comparison.
| Software | Free plan | Paid plans from | Schedule E report | Best for |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Landlord Studio | Yes, first 3 units | PRO, $12/mo + $1 per extra unit (annual plan) | Yes, on PRO | Accounting-first landlords with 1 to 100 units |
| TurboTenant | Yes, with listings, screening and rent collection | Essentials, $12.42/mo | On Pro, $16.58/mo | Free screening and rent collection |
| TenantCloud | No, 14-day trial | Starter, $15/mo (up to 10 leases) | On Pro, $50/mo | Managers who want owner-portal and team tools |
| DoorLoop | No | One, $199/mo minimum | Not listed | Growing portfolios of about 80+ units |
| Baselane | Yes, with banking, bookkeeping and rent collection | Smart, $20/mo | Yes, free on Core | Free banking built into rent collection |
| Hemlane | Yes, without rent collection | Basic, $30/mo | No | Out-of-state landlords with 1 to 50 units |
| AppFolio | No, 50-unit minimum | Core, $1.49 per unit + a minimum spend | Not listed | Professional managers with 50+ units |
In this guide
- The 11 tools, reviewed: Landlord Studio, Hemlane, Buildium, AppFolio, MRI Software, TurboTenant, Rentec Direct, Avail, Propertyware, Yardi Breeze, DoorLoop, Honorable mentions
- What each tool costs by portfolio size
- Best apps for iOS and Android
- FAQs
The 11 best rental property management software tools
1. Landlord Studio: best overall for accounting-first landlords

Best for: accounting-focused landlords with 1 to 100 units who want tax-ready books without paying for an enterprise platform.
Bank feeds (transactions imported automatically from your bank), receipt scanning and automatic reconciliation categorize income and expenses as they happen, and a one-click Schedule E report makes tax time straightforward. Rent collection, screening, leases and maintenance sit in the same app on desktop and mobile.
Price: Landlord Studio has three pricing plans, and new users get a free 14-day trial of PRO.
- GO is free and includes your first 3 units.
- PRO starts at $12 per month billed annually ($15 billed monthly). Additional units cost $1 per unit a month ($1.20 billed monthly).
- PRO Plus starts at $28 per month billed annually ($35 billed monthly). Additional units cost $1 per unit a month ($1.20 billed monthly).
Key features:
- Full landlord accounting suite (bank feeds, receipt scanning, auto-reconciliation, recurring expenses, mileage tracking)
- 15+ advanced financial reports, including a Schedule E report
- Tenant screening and lease management
- Maintenance tracking
- Mobile apps for iOS and Android
- Automated online rent collection and reminders
Pros: Free plan for 3 units, affordable paid plans, mobile apps, accounting-first design, and receipt scanning and mileage tracking on every plan.
Cons: GO stops at 3 units, and bank feeds and the Schedule E report need PRO. Rent payments take 3 to 5 days. The $2.50 ACH (bank transfer) fee is landlord-paid by default, though you can pass it to the tenant. Tenant communication features are limited.
Skip it if: you want a free plan beyond 3 units (TurboTenant, Avail or Innago), or a free Schedule E report (Baselane Core).

2. Hemlane: for remote landlords

Best for: out-of-state landlords with 1 to 50 units who want the option of human-assisted leasing and maintenance coordination.
Hemlane pairs leasing and management software with optional property management assistants and local vendors. It advertises to 15+ listing websites and offers 24/7 repair coordination.
Price:
- Starter is free forever and includes advertising, tenant screening, and full rental accounting with bank sync (no rent collection).
- Basic starts at $30 per month billed annually ($28 base + $2/unit) and adds rent collection, late fees, and lease tracking.
- Essential starts at $48 per month billed annually ($28 base + $20/unit) and adds repair coordination.
- Complete starts at $86 per month billed annually ($28 base + $58/unit) and adds full management assistance.
Pros: Free tier, property management assistants, self-guided tour technology, $0 ACH fees.
Cons: No landlord mobile app (Hemlane's app is for tenants), and rent collection isn't included on the free plan.
Skip it if: you need a Schedule E report, which Hemlane doesn't offer.
3. Buildium: for property managers and HOAs

Best for: property managers running mid-to-large portfolios and homeowners associations (HOAs) that need deep reporting.
Buildium is a full-featured cloud platform for larger portfolios, with an easy-to-use mobile portal, customer support and analytics on how your rental business is performing.
Price: three tiers. Annual billing saves about 10%; month-to-month prices are in brackets.
- Essential: $55.92 a month ($62) for up to 20 units, and $72.25 ($80) for 21 to 40 units. Optional extras cost more.
- Growth: $173 a month ($192).
- Premium: $361.17 a month ($400).
Transaction, e-signature, and setup fees can add to the headline price.
Pros: Online rent collection, extensive training materials, customer support, good for larger teams.
Cons: High cost, overly complex for small landlords.
Skip it if: you have a handful of units and mostly need bookkeeping and rent collection.
4. AppFolio: for managers with 50+ units

Best for: professional managers with 50+ units, including multifamily, student and commercial properties, who need enterprise-grade accounting and reporting.
AppFolio covers the standard jobs, such as maintenance requests, automated payments and online leases, and adds the depth that large portfolios need.
Price: AppFolio's Core plan starts at $1.49 per unit per month, and the platform requires a minimum of 50 units to sign up. Plus starts at $3.20 per unit and Max at $5.00 per unit. A minimum monthly spend also applies, but AppFolio doesn't publish the amount, so request a quote for your portfolio.
Pros: Supports all property types, mobile app, advanced analytics.
Cons: High minimum spend, not suitable for small portfolios.
5. MRI Software: for commercial portfolios
.png)
Best for: enterprise and commercial operators managing large, complex portfolios.
MRI Software specializes in commercial property management for real estate professionals at corporate scale. It adds investment management reports and strategic planning and analysis tools that standard landlord software doesn't have.
Price: You'll need to reach out to request their pricing. Expect enterprise-level pricing similar to AppFolio.
Pros: Advanced commercial features, versatile property type support, market data access.
Cons: Price by quote, no free trial, more complex onboarding.
Skip it if: you manage residential rentals yourself.
6. TurboTenant: the best free option
.png)
Best for: small and budget-conscious landlords who want free marketing, screening and rent collection, and will pay extra for deeper accounting.
TurboTenant covers advertising rental properties, online applications, tenant screening and rent collection free for landlords, funded by fees tenants pay. Full accounting and Schedule E reports need the paid Pro plan.
Price: paid plans are billed annually only.
- Free forever ($0/mo) for unlimited listings, screening, rent collection, and maintenance requests.
- Essentials starts at $12.42/mo billed annually ($149/yr).
- Pro adds accounting insights, Schedule E, and Form 8825 reporting (for partnerships and S corporations). It starts at $16.58/mo billed annually ($199/yr) for up to 10 units, rising to $399/yr for 11 to 30 units.
Pros: Free plan, screening at no cost to the landlord (the applicant pays).
Cons: Tenants pay screening and card fees, full accounting requires the Pro plan.
Skip it if: you want Schedule E reports without paying for a plan.
7. Rentec Direct: for general ledger accounting

Best for: mid-sized portfolios that want general ledger-style accounting alongside management tools.
Rentec Direct combines property management tools with customizable, general ledger accounting for landlords and property managers.
Price: Rentec Starter costs $25 a month for up to 10 properties and 10 tenants, billed monthly. Rentec Pro costs $2 per unit a month with a $50 minimum, and annual billing takes 10% off. Every plan includes Schedule E tax reports.
They also have a plan for property managers at $2.50 per unit a month, with a $50 minimum.
Pros: General ledger accounting, automatic listing syndication.
Cons: No free plan, extra fees for some features.
Skip it if: you want a free plan to start on.
8. Avail: for first-time landlords
.png)
Best for: first-time small landlords who want simple listing, screening and lease tools.
Avail focuses on finding and managing tenants: listing syndication (posting your listing to many rental sites at once), e-sign leases and tenant screening. It also has basic accounting and reporting, online rent collection and maintenance tracking.
Price: Unlimited is free; Unlimited Plus is $9 per unit a month, billed monthly.
Pros: Easy tenant acquisition, next-day rent on Unlimited Plus.
Cons: Limited accounting, lease generator can be clunky. Unlimited Plus can become costly as your portfolio grows.
Skip it if: you need detailed accounting, or your portfolio is growing, since Unlimited Plus is charged per unit.
9. Propertyware: for managers with 250+ units

Best for: single-family management companies with 250+ units that need heavy customization.
Propertyware specializes in single-family property management, with rent collection, maintenance, tenant screening and customizable workflows.
Price: Basic $1/unit/month ($250 min), Plus $1.50/unit ($350 min), Premium $2/unit ($450 min). There's also a one-time implementation fee of twice the monthly fee.
Pros: Scales for large portfolios.
Cons: High minimum monthly fees, onboarding costs, limited integrations.
10. Yardi Breeze: for established, varied portfolios
.png)
Best for: property managers and investors with larger, more varied portfolios who want an established, full-featured platform.
Yardi Breeze is the cloud-based platform from Yardi, a long-established property management software company, and it supports both residential and commercial properties.
Price: Residential: $1 per unit a month with a $100 minimum (Premier: $400 minimum); commercial: $2 per unit with a $200 minimum. Pricing is based on an annual agreement.
Pros: Full feature set, free training, supports multiple property types.
Cons: Occasional service complaints, and the mobile app covers only maintenance, inspections and tasks.
11. DoorLoop: for portfolios of 80+ units
.png)
Best for: growing portfolios that want an all-in-one platform with accounting and maintenance workflows built into every plan.
DoorLoop is quick to learn and onboard, and every plan gets the same core features and well-reviewed training and support. It handles single-family, multifamily, commercial, student and mobile homes.
Price: per unit, with a monthly minimum. Every plan includes the full platform, including accounting.
- DoorLoop One: $2.50 per unit a month billed annually, with a $199 monthly minimum ($3.00 per unit and a $239 minimum billed monthly).
- Connect: $4.00 per unit ($299 minimum).
- Multiply: $5.00 per unit ($399 minimum).
Pros: Easy onboarding, user-friendly interface, full-featured accounting across all plans.
Cons: A $199 monthly minimum makes it expensive below about 80 units; no free tier.
Honorable mentions: Innago, Stessa, TenantCloud and Baselane
Four more tools come up often, especially for landlords who want a free plan or strong financial tracking:
- Innago: best for a free platform. It has no monthly or per-unit fees, covers rent collection, screening, lease signing and maintenance, and makes money from tenant-paid payment fees.
- Stessa: best for financial tracking. The free Essentials plan covers income and expense tracking. The Schedule E report is on Manage, $12/mo billed annually ($15 monthly), and Pro is $28/mo billed annually ($35 monthly).
- TenantCloud: best for property managers who want tiered owner-portal and team tools as their portfolio scales. Starter costs $15/mo billed annually ($25/mo billed monthly) for up to 10 leases, and Pro is $50/mo billed annually ($60/mo monthly). There's no free plan, only a 14-day free trial. Starter has basic income and expense tracking; full tax reports and bank reconciliation require Pro.
- Baselane: best for landlords who want free banking and bookkeeping built directly into rent collection, rather than a full tenant and lease management suite. Core is free and Smart starts at $20/mo. Rent collection is included free (deposits take 5 business days, or 2 on Smart), and tenant screening is a la carte ($24.99 to $49.99, paid by the applicant).
Compared them all? Landlord Studio GO is free for up to 3 units, and you can try PRO free for 14 days.
How much does rental property management software cost?
At 1 to 3 units, six of the 15 tools we priced charge $0 a month in subscription fees for online rent collection, including Landlord Studio's GO plan. At 10 units on annual billing, Landlord Studio PRO costs $19 a month, TenantCloud $15, Hemlane $48, Buildium $55.92 and DoorLoop $199.
Headline "from" prices hide most of the difference: unit caps, monthly minimums and setup fees decide what you actually pay. So we calculated the monthly cost of each tool at 1, 5, 10 and 25 units from each vendor's own pricing page. The tables cover 1 to 25 units; AppFolio starts at 50 units and MRI quotes on request.
Every figure is the subscription only, assuming one lease per unit and one unit per property. The month-to-month premium, Schedule E plans, and ACH and screening fees follow the 5-unit example.
What does each tool cost at 1, 5, 10 and 25 units?
At 5 units, seven of the 15 tools cost $15 a month or less on annual billing. DoorLoop, Yardi Breeze and Propertyware cost $100 to $250 because of their monthly minimums. The table shows the cheapest plan from each vendor that includes online rent collection, as the monthly equivalent of an annual subscription.
| Software | 1 unit | 5 units | 10 units | 25 units | Plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Landlord Studio | $0 | $14 | $19 | $34 | GO (free, up to 3 units), then PRO at $12 for 3 units + $1 per extra unit (annual plan) |
| TurboTenant | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Free |
| Baselane | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Core |
| Stessa | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Essentials |
| Innago | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Free |
| Avail | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Unlimited |
| TenantCloud | $15 | $15 | $15 | $29.17 | Starter (up to 10 leases), then Growth |
| Rentec Direct | $25* | $25* | $25* | $45 | Starter (up to 10 properties), then Pro |
| Hemlane | $30 | $38 | $48 | $78 | Basic: $28 + $2 per unit |
| Buildium | $55.92 | $55.92 | $55.92 | $72.25 | Essential ($671/yr up to 20 units, $867/yr for 21 to 40) |
| Yardi Breeze | $100 | $100 | $100 | $100 | $1 per unit, $100 minimum, annual agreement |
| DoorLoop | $199 | $199 | $199 | $199 | One: $2.50 per unit, $199 monthly minimum |
| Propertyware | $250** | $250** | $250** | $250** | Basic: $1 per unit, $250 minimum, plus a $500 implementation fee |
| AppFolio | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | 50-unit minimum; from $1.49 per unit |
| MRI Software | Quote | Quote | Quote | Quote | Pricing on request |
* Rentec Direct's Starter plan is billed monthly only. ** Propertyware doesn't state a billing term.
How we calculated. Prices come from each vendor's official pricing page or help center, checked in October 2026. Annual billing is shown as its monthly equivalent. Where a plan caps units or leases, the next plan up is used. We chose the tools on customer reviews, ease of use and price at each portfolio size. Vendor pricing changes often, so confirm current rates before you buy.
What does a 5-unit landlord pay in year one?
A 5-unit landlord who wants online rent collection and a Schedule E report pays $0 to $199 in year one on Baselane, Stessa, Landlord Studio or TurboTenant. DoorLoop costs $2,388 for rent collection alone and lists no Schedule E report, so it's shown for reference. Fees the tenant can be asked to pay are left out.
| Software | Annual billing | Monthly billing | How it adds up |
|---|---|---|---|
| Baselane | $0 | $0 | Core plan. ACH is waived only if rent goes into a Baselane account |
| Stessa | $144 | $180 | Manage: $12 × 12, or $15 × 12 |
| Landlord Studio | $168 | $208.80 | PRO: ($12 + 2 extra units × $1) × 12, or ($15 + 2 × $1.20) × 12 |
| TurboTenant | $199 | Not offered | Pro, billed annually only. ACH is free on Pro |
| DoorLoop (reference only) | $2,388 | $2,868 | One: $199 minimum × 12, or $239 × 12. Accounting is on every plan, but no Schedule E report is listed |
At this size, Baselane is cheapest if you also bank with Baselane, and Stessa's Manage plan is $24 a year cheaper than Landlord Studio PRO. Landlord Studio PRO, at $14 a month on an annual plan, adds bank feeds and the Schedule E report to the receipt scanning, mileage tracking, rent collection and maintenance tools that GO already includes. DoorLoop's $199 monthly minimum makes it the most expensive option at this size, even though its per-unit price is $2.50.
Need bank feeds and a Schedule E report? Try PRO free for 14 days, with no credit card required. If you don't upgrade, you keep GO free for up to 3 units.
At 5 units, month-to-month billing costs 11% to 67% more than annual billing on the plans that offer both. Buildium is at the low end and TenantCloud Starter at the high end. Landlord Studio PRO goes from $14 to $17.40 a month, and DoorLoop's minimum rises from $199 to $239. TurboTenant's paid plans, Yardi Breeze and Propertyware don't publish a month-to-month price.
What does a plan with a Schedule E report cost?
Six of these tools offer a Schedule E report, from $0 a month (Baselane Core) to $50 (TenantCloud Pro) on annual billing. Prices below are annual billing, with month-to-month in brackets. Hemlane and Avail don't offer a Schedule E report, and DoorLoop, Innago, Buildium, Yardi Breeze, Propertyware and AppFolio don't list one on their pricing pages, and MRI quotes on request.
| Software | 1 unit | 5 units | 10 units | 25 units | Plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Baselane | $0 | $0 | $0 | $0 | Core (accountant tax package) |
| Stessa | $12 ($15) | $12 ($15) | $12 ($15) | $12 ($15) | Manage |
| Landlord Studio | $12 ($15) | $14 ($17.40) | $19 ($23.40) | $34 ($41.40) | PRO |
| TurboTenant | $16.58 | $16.58 | $16.58 | $33.25 | Pro ($199/yr up to 10 units, $399/yr for 11 to 30). Annual only |
| Rentec Direct | $25* | $25* | $25* | $45 ($50) | Schedule E reports on every plan |
| TenantCloud | $50 ($60) | $50 ($60) | $50 ($60) | $50 ($60) | Pro |
* Rentec Direct's Starter plan is billed monthly only.
Who pays rent payment and screening fees?
ACH rent payments cost $0 to $5 each and card payments 2.95% to 3.5% (plus $0.30 on TenantCloud). On most tools the tenant or applicant pays by default. These fees are how most free plans are funded.
| Software | ACH rent payment | Card rent payment | Tenant screening |
|---|---|---|---|
| Landlord Studio | $2.50, landlord by default or passed to the tenant | 3.49%, tenant | From $45, tenant or landlord |
| TurboTenant | $2 on Free, $0 on Pro, tenant | 3.49%, tenant | $55, or $45 on Pro, tenant |
| Baselane | $2 to $5, waived into a Baselane account, landlord or tenant | 3.49%, tenant | $24.99 to $49.99, applicant |
| Stessa | Up to $2, $0 into a Stessa account, tenant | 3%, tenant | $29 to $49, landlord or tenant |
| Innago | $2, tenant by default | 2.99%, tenant by default | $30 to $35 + $10 income check, applicant |
| Avail | $2.50 on free, $0 on Unlimited Plus, tenant | 3.5%, tenant | Varies by state, usually the tenant |
| TenantCloud | $1.50 to $1.95 by plan, tenant by default | 3.5% + $0.30, tenant | $39 + $10 income check, applicant |
| DoorLoop | $1.50 on One, $0 on higher plans, tenant by default | 3.25% (minimum $3.50), tenant | $35 + $10 income check, applicant |
| Hemlane | $0 | 3%, payer not stated | $40, tenant |
| Rentec Direct | $2 on Starter; on Pro, 1 free per property a month, then $0.50. Payer not stated | 3.5% or 2.95%, tenant or landlord | $10 to $29.45, payer not stated |
| Buildium | $2.35 on Essential, $1.35 on Growth, plus $99 per bank account. Payer not stated | 2.99%, payer not stated | $17 (landlord) or $35 (applicant) |
What are the best property management apps for iOS and Android?
Eight of the tools in this guide have a landlord app on both the App Store and Google Play: Landlord Studio, TurboTenant, Baselane, Stessa, Innago, DoorLoop, Buildium and AppFolio. The first five have a free plan and suit landlords who run their rentals from a phone; DoorLoop, Buildium and AppFolio are built for larger portfolios and cost more.
| App | Best for | Cheapest plan with the app |
|---|---|---|
| Landlord Studio | Accounting-first landlords who log receipts and mileage on the go | Free GO plan (up to 3 units); PRO from $12/mo billed annually |
| TurboTenant | Budget and small DIY landlords | Free |
| Baselane | Banking and bookkeeping built into rent collection | Free Core plan |
| Stessa | Accounting and financial tracking | Free Essentials plan |
| Innago | A genuinely free platform | Free |
| DoorLoop | Tech-forward growing portfolios | One: $199/mo minimum |
| Buildium | Mid-to-large portfolios and HOAs | Essential: from $55.92/mo billed annually |
| AppFolio | Professional managers with 50+ units | 50-unit minimum; from $1.49 per unit |
In the Landlord Studio app, SmartScan reads your receipts and GPS tracking logs your mileage, on every plan including GO. App availability was checked on the US App Store and Google Play.
Video: 5 of the best tools, compared
A short walkthrough of five of the tools in this guide. Prices in the video may be out of date, so use the tables above.
Final words: how to choose
Start with two questions: how many units you manage, and how much accounting you want the software to do.
- If tax time is the pain, pick an accounting-first tool. Good real estate accounting tells you whether each rental earns what you planned, and general accounting software like QuickBooks isn't built for rentals.
- If admin is the pain, pick one tool that lets you find tenants, track maintenance requests and collect rent.
- Either way, choose something simple enough to use every week.
Landlord Studio covers both. GO is free for your first 3 units, and PRO adds bank feeds and the Schedule E report from $12 a month.
You might also like
- The Best Way to Collect Rent Payments From Your Tenants
- Should You Use QuickBooks For Rental Properties?
- Rental Property Deductions Checklist
Rental property management software FAQs
What is the best rental property management software?
Landlord Studio is the best overall pick for accounting-focused landlords. It's free for 3 units, and PRO adds bank feeds and Schedule E reports from $12 a month. TurboTenant is the best free option, and DoorLoop suits portfolios of about 80 or more units.
How much will I pay for property management software?
It depends mostly on portfolio size. For 1 to 3 units, Landlord Studio GO, TurboTenant, Baselane, Stessa, Innago and Avail charge nothing for online rent collection. At 25 units, the cheapest rent-collection plans run from $0 to $250 a month.
What is the best free property management software?
TurboTenant and Baselane are the strongest free options. TurboTenant is free for listings, screening and rent collection, funded by tenant-paid fees, and Baselane's free Core plan includes bookkeeping and a Schedule E report. Innago is free for landlords with no per-unit fees. Landlord Studio GO is free for your first 3 units, with rent collection, receipt scanning and mileage tracking; bank feeds and the Schedule E report need PRO at $12 a month billed annually.
Do I need rental property management software?
If you collect rent, track expenses or file a Schedule E, software saves time at any portfolio size. Several tools are free for small portfolios and most offer a free trial, so check that one supports your property types and the number of units you plan to own.


.webp)